Though all of us experience frustration on the road from time to time, road rage takes things to a whole new level. Road rage can pose many dangers on the roadways of Nevada and across the nation.
Road rage dangers
Road rage incidences can quickly become dangerous. What may start out as an exchange of insults can quickly become deadly. Angry drivers can either cause fatalities with a deadly weapon or by using their car as a weapon.
Road rage can pose dangers to pedestrians in the area also. Pedestrians can be injured by flying objects and straying bullets. Bystanders can also be injured by the car if the angry driver loses control.
Road rage penalties in Nevada
Motorists convicted of a misdemeanor offense involving road rage in Nevada can receive up to eight demerit points against their license. Drivers convicted of road rage misdemeanors may face up to six months behind bars and up to $1000 in fines. Road rage misdemeanors involving violence against another are punishable by up to six months in jail and $1,000 in fines. If a serious bodily injury or death resulted from the incident, the penalties escalate up to 15 years in jail and $10,000 in fines.
Road rage incidents not involving bodily injury are governed under NRS484B.653, the Nevada reckless driving law. This Nevada law makes it illegal to drive a vehicle with willful disregard for others’ safety or any property accessible to the public. Motor vehicle accidents involving road rage with violent intent or physical harm are governed by NRS 200.481. Road rage involving assault with a deadly weapon is considered a felony offense, punishable by up to six years in prison.
If you notice a driver is angry, do not engage them. Keep calm and leave the scene because doing so can save your life and the lives of others.